Shaniwar Wada was built in the Year 1732 in the city of Pune. The palace was the Seat of the Peshwa Rulers of the Maratha Empire. When the Peshwa lost their control over the East India Company after the Third Anglo-Marathi War, the Palace became the center for Indian Politics in the 18th Century.

The name Shaniwar Wada was derived from the Marathi word ‘Shaniwar’(Saturday) and ‘Wada’ (A general word for any residential complex). The Palace’s opening ceremony was performed according to Hindu religious customs,on January 22nd, 1732. Later, the Peshwas made several changes, including the fortified perimeter walls ; Bastions and Gates ;Court Hall and other Buildings. The perimeter wall has five Gateways and nine Bastions enclosing a garden complex.. It is situated near the Mula-Mutha River, in Kasba Peth.

Shaniwar Wada has five Gates:
• Dilli Darwaza
• Mastani Darwaza
• Khidki Darwaza
• Ganesh Darwaza
• Jambhul Darwaza

Shaniwar Wada